Vermont law requires that dogs older than 6 months of age be licensed in the town in which they reside by April 1 of each year, not in any town where the owner happens to own property. 20 V.S.A. § 3581. If the dog and dog’s owners move during the year, the license may be transferred by the clerk to the new town clerk. 20 V.S.A. § 3591. If a dog reaches 6 months of age after April 1, the owner must apply for a license within 30 days.
Out of State Dogs. An out of state dog may be brought into Vermont for a period not exceeding 90 days without obtaining a Vermont license, provided that the dog is licensed in the other state and the owner possesses a certificate signed by a licensed veterinarian or state official of the other state that the dog has received a rabies vaccination that is current for the 90 days. 20 V.S.A. § 3587.
Kennel Permits. The kennel permit is a permit issued by the town for the purpose of establishing that a resident in town is keeping domestic pets or wolf-hybrids for sale or for breeding purposes other than for his or her own use. 20 V.S.A. § 3681. The kennel permit applies to wolf-hybrids and domestic pets which include dogs, cats and ferrets as defined in 20 V.S.A. § 3541(3). Note that the kennel permit has no relationship to the zoning bylaws pertaining to kennels for boarding or for construction of kennel facilities. While the Clerk must issue a kennel permit if one is requested, the applicant must then go to the zoning office to see whether the zoning bylaws allow the proposed use of the property. The kennel permit also has no relationship to dog licensing.
$9.00 for spayed/neutered dogs by April 1
$13.00 for non-spayed/neutered dogs by April 1
$11.00 for spayed/neutered dogs AFTER April 1
$17.00 for non-spayed/neutered dogs AFTER April 1
An addition fine may be imposed by the Selectboard for dogs not registered by the end of April
Waitsfield Town Office
4144 Main Street
Waitsfield, VT 05673
Phone: (802) 496-2218 ext. 11
E-mail: [email protected]