Town Budget

Waitsfield's fiscal year is July 1 to June 30.  The town's budget is voted on at the Annual Town Meeting, which occurs on the first Tuesday in March.  The budget is published in the Annual Town Report and mailed to each taxpayer's residence before Town Meeting.  This requires the budget to be complete and ready for publication by the end of January--only one month after the close of the previous fiscal year.  

2015-2016 Budget and Meeting Schedule

March 2016

Tuesday, Mar. 1 – Town Meeting

February 2016

Sun., Jan. 30 – Last day (at least 30 days before TM) to post Warning and Notice of Town Meeting.

Mon., Feb. 8 – Select Board

Sat, Feb. 20 – Last day for municipality to post warning for public informational hearing on any public question to be voted on by Australian ballot.

Sat., Feb. 20 – Last day (at least 10 days before TM) for Selectboard to mail or otherwise distribute the Town Report with the Town Meeting warning (in the event it is not published in the newspaper).

Mon., Feb. 22 – Select Board

Thurs, Feb. 25 – Last day for Town Meeting warning to be published in newspaper.

Mon., Feb. 29 – Select Board (special meeting)
• Town Meeting preparation

January 2016

Mon, Jan. 4 – Select Board (special meeting)
• Review draft Select Board report.

Tues., Jan. 5 – Draft CIP provided to Planning Commission for review and comment.

Fri., Jan. 8 – Budget Task Force
• General Fund review
• Capital budget review

Mon., Jan. 11 – Select Board
• Budget work session.
• Review draft Selectboard report.

Fri., Jan. 15 – Budget Task Force
• General Fund review
• Capital budget review

Mon., Jan. 18 – Select Board (special meeting)
• Capital Improvement Program public hearing.
• Budget work session.
• Review draft Town Meeting warning.

Thurs., Jan. 21 – Last day to file petitions signed by at least 5% of registered voters with Town Clerk to have an item added to the Town Meeting Warning.

Fri., Jan. 22 – Budget Task Force
• General Fund review
• Capital budget review

Mon, Jan. 25 – Select Board
• Final budget review; adopt budget.
• Adopt Capital Improvement Program.
• Finalize Town Meeting warning.

Mon., Jan. 25 – Last day at 5:00pm to file with Town Clerk nomination petitions for town office positions to be voted on by Australian ballot.

Fri., Jan. 29 – Deadline to get 2015 Town Report materials to printer in Winooski

December 2015

Fri., Dec. 4 – Budget Task Force
• Library budget review
• Capital budget review

Mon, Dec. 7 – Select Board (special meeting)

WED., Dec. 9 – Tri-town Select Board meeting with non-profit service agencies

Fri., Dec. 11 – Budget Task Force
• Public Safety
• Capital budget review

Mon, Dec. 14 – Select Board Joint meeting with Fayston Select Board at the Fayston Town Office
• Fire Dept. budget
• Road maintenance agreement
• Library

Fri., Dec. 18 – Budget Task Force
• Compensation and benefits review
• General Fund review
• Capital budget review

Mon, Dec. 22 – Select Board (?)
• Review preliminary budget

Weds., Dec. 30 – Public hearing notices must be published in the VR for the Jan. 18 hearing on the capital improvement plan.

November 2015

Mon., Nov. 2 – Select Board

Fri., Nov. 6 – Budget Task Force >> Cancelled
• Road Dept. capital and budget review
• Capital budget review

Mon., Nov. 16 – Select Board

Fri., Nov. 13 – Budget Task Force
• Fire Department budget review
• Capital budget review

Fri., Nov. 20 – Budget Task Force
• Road Dept. budget review
• Capital budget review

Mon, Nov. 30 – Select Board
• Hydrant maintenance bids

October 2015

Fri., Oct. 23 – Budget Task Force
• Review schedule
• Capital budget preparations

Mon., Oct. 26 – Select Board (regular meeting)

Fri., Oct. 30 – Budget Task Force
• Capital budget preparations
• Review audit status

Contacts

Town Clerk

JENNIFER PETERSON

Waitsfield Town Office
4144 Main Street
Waitsfield, VT 05673

Phone: (802) 496-2218 ext. 11
E-mail: WaitsfieldClerk@gmavt.net

Town Administrator

VALERIE J. CAPELS

Waitsfield Town Office
4144 Main Street
Waitsfield, VT 05673

Phone: (802) 496-2218
Fax: (802) 496-9284
E-mail: townadmin@madriver.com